Coralee Lack
Featured Ladies Members

Coralee Lack

Coralee Lack-Ladies Offroad Network MemberCoralee Lack

Forum User Name: Crawler_Chick
Chat with Coralee

"I was born in California, raised in Myrtle Beach South Carolina and am now living in the beautiful Pacific Northwest. I began off-roading as a hobby in early 2012, and have been addicted from the moment I set tire upon rocks! I love off-roading and do so as often as possible. I am also battling multiple sclerosis and have found that time spent in my Jeep and outside is an amazing source of healing so I strive to do this as much as possible!"

Occupation: Self Employed
Birthday: March 8, 1972

Facebook TwitterInstagram

Questions & Answers

Coralee Lack-Ladies Offroad Network MemberAbout Coralee:

Q: What is your favorite color?
A: "Green."

Q: What is your favorite food?
A: "Tacos."

Q: Do you have kids? 
A: "I have a 27 year old son and a 25 year old daughter. My son is currently overseas on a military deployment and my daughter is North Carolina."

Q: Do you have any pets?
A: "I have a 7 year old American Pit Bull Terrier/Border Collie Mix named Meach and a 10 year old Russian Blue named Luna."

Q: Do you take your pets offroading?
A: "I take the dogs off-roading and camping, yes!"


Coralee's Offroad Facts:

Q: How old were you when you first started wheeling?
"I was 39."

Coralee Lack-Ladies Offroad Network MemberQ: Is your whole family into offroading?
A: "My husband and I off-road together. Our extended families like to join us when they visit, but they are not involved in off-roading as a hobby."

Q: Are you usually the driver or the co-driver?
A: "I am the driver. My husband is my co-dawg."

Q: Do you have any offroad traditions or rituals?
A: "My husband does all of the highway driving to and from the trails,I do all of the off-road driving."

Q: How often do you get to go offroading?
A:  "We have a household goal of going off-roading at least once a month and have held to that goal pretty tightly over the last few years. We’ve only missed a handful of monthly trips over many years now."

Q: How did you get started in the offroad world?
A: "I bought a Jeep in late 2011 and by mid 2012 had met some off-roading friends, and I was hooked!"

Q: Where is your favorite place to wheel?
A: "Slick Rock Trail in Northern California."

Q: Do you belong to an offroad club? Which one? What is their motto/mission?
"No, none at the moment."

Q: What is on your off-roading bucket-list?
A: "My goals are simple; I want to continue to improve my driving capabilities, see more cool places and to meet even more cool new people. If my journey can inspire at least one person along the way than even better!"

Q: How are you active in the off-road world?
A: "I tend to wheel with small groups of people, but I stay connected with the greater community through social media and attending larger events periodically."


Coralee Lack-Ladies Offroad Network MemberCoralee's Offroad Stories:

Q: What is your most memorable offroad moment?
A: "I have two: At Slick Rock Jeep trail in Northern California there is an obstacle called the ladder. This is the spot where spectators stand around and watch/critique everyone as they try to climb the obstacle. When I pulled up to climb it everyone was surprised and skeptical. When I got to the top of the ladder all of the ladies standing around cheered, really loud! And the second one happened while driving the Rubicon trail a lady came over to talk to me. She said she had been camping for 5 days and that I was the first lady driver she had seen and she wanted to come tell me how awesome that was!"

Q: What was your first wheeling trip?
A: "It was snow wheeling at Wentworth Springs Road in Northern California."

Q: What was your longest wheeling trip?
A: "Before the Rebelle Rally which is 8 days of camping and 7 days of off-road driving, my longest trip was 5 days of wheeling/camping on the Rubicon Trail."

Q: What was your favorite wheeling trip?
A: "I don’t really have a favorite! I have so much fun almost every time I wheel! It would be easier to say which was my least favorite! 🙂"


Coralee Lack-Ladies Offroad Network MemberAll About the Ladies:

Q: Who do you look up to in the industry? Why?
A: "I look up to anyone that pushes themselves to be more than they were yesterday."

Q: How do you feel as a woman in the offroad industry?
A: "I’ve been very fortunate to have been treated with the utmost respect from everyone I have met, male and female alike.  My friends and teachers always knew what I was capable of and have always encouraged me to push myself. I’m proud to be a female wheeler. I’m proud that I can work on my own Jeep. I’m proud that I’m not afraid to get out in the dirt, mud, muck, rain or snow. I’m proud when a male off-roader tells me that he’s impressed with my knowledge and ability to articulate what I know. I’m proud when my male off-roading friends use my accomplishments to motivate their male friends who might be a little less enthusiastic about certain challenges than I am. I’m proud to show the world that I can do this and that my gender is irrelevant."

Q: Give us a story, any story, about educating, guiding, empowering ladies in the off-road, past or future:
"I don't currently have one."

Q: What changes have you noticed in the off-road industry?
A: "More women!"

Q: What advice do you have for ladies who want to get started off-roading?
A:  "My advice is to any woman wanting to get started is a two part answer: (1) Just do it! You’ll be amazed at how exhilarating it is. You’ll be surprised at how much your vehicle can do and you’ll be surprised at how much you can do. (2) Be curious. Ask a lot of questions, and listen to the answers. Apply the things that you learn. Keep learning and keep applying the things you learn. The more you learn the better you’ll become. If someone can’t tell you why you’re doing something (picking a line, greasing your steering/suspension, changing your air filter) find someone who can tell you why and how. I look back on what I was like in early 2012 versus now; so much has changed and it happens quickly as long as you keeping on doing and keep on learning."


Coralee Lack-Ladies Offroad Network MemberCoralee's Vehicle:

About Coralee's vehicles:
"I have two Jeeps!"

Vehicle Name: Jules
Vehicle Name:
The Dragon 

Q: Does your vehicle also serve as a daily driver?
A:  "I don't actually daily drive."

Q: What is the best modification you have done to your vehicle?
A: "This one is hard to answer because there are so many modifications that all have a purpose and make the Jeeps better.  If I had to narrow it down to 1 I would say my Bestop tops. You can quickly and easily open them right up to let the sun in (or snow if you’re so inclined)."

Q: Do you work on your own vehicle?
A: "I work on my vehicle when I can. When I come across something that I don’t know how to do, I try to learn so I can do it myself next time."